ASN1: Fix stack variable overwrite when encoding OID.
authorKp <kp@valhallalegends.com>
Sat, 31 May 2008 21:37:45 +0000 (16:37 -0500)
committerKp <kp@valhallalegends.com>
Mon, 1 Sep 2008 19:48:41 +0000 (14:48 -0500)
The call to sscanf specifies a format string of "%lu", a long unsigned
int.  The pointer argument was cast to unsigned long *, but this is
wrong for 64 bit systems.  On 64 bit systems, unsigned long is 64 bits,
but the oid value is a SilcUInt32 on all systems.  As a result, sscanf
will overwrite a neighboring variable on the stack.  Fix this by
changing the format string to "%u" and removing the cast.

lib/silcasn1/silcasn1_encode.c

index 11b963e..986909c 100644 (file)
@@ -351,7 +351,7 @@ silc_asn1_encoder(SilcAsn1 asn1, SilcStack stack1, SilcStack stack2,
        /* Get OID words from the string */
        cp = strchr(oidstr, '.');
        while (cp) {
-         if (sscanf(oidstr, "%lu", (unsigned long *)&oid) != 1) {
+         if (sscanf(oidstr, "%u", &oid) != 1) {
            SILC_LOG_DEBUG(("Malformed OID string"));
            goto fail;
          }
@@ -362,7 +362,7 @@ silc_asn1_encoder(SilcAsn1 asn1, SilcStack stack1, SilcStack stack2,
          cp = strchr(oidstr, '.');
 
          if (!cp) {
-           if (sscanf(oidstr, "%lu", (unsigned long *)&oid) != 1) {
+           if (sscanf(oidstr, "%u", &oid) != 1) {
              SILC_LOG_DEBUG(("Malformed OID string"));
              goto fail;
            }